Week 85 | Playing With Lights

While I still haven’t dropped off my film at the lab, I have a lighting post this week.

I only had 30 min to set-up, shoot, and put everything back the way it was set up, so I didn’t reinvent the wheel here. I wanted to play with lights, specifically the kicker. Then I had a hair light experiment, then turned the kicker into a key light and moved it infront me. Here we go!

50mm | 1/25 | f/1.8 | ISO 400 | 200 watt kicker light | window light fill

50mm | 1/25 | f/1.8 | ISO 400 | 200 watt kicker light bouncing off an umbrella | window fill light 

The only difference between the top and bottom set is ISO. Top: ISO 400, bottom: ISO 100.

50mm | 1/25 | f/1.8 | ISO 100 | 200 watt kicker light | window light fill

50mm | 1/25 | f/1.8 | ISO 100 | 200 watt kicker light bouncing off an umbrella  | window light fill

Both have good lighting but are so different. I love the tone change that happens by under exposing slightly. The light is behind me, as close as possible without showing in the picture. It is facing away from me bouncing off an umbrella. which makes it softer and not as bright. There is a window infront of me letting in some fill light. I’m using a remote to take pictures of myself.

In the following set I added a hair light. Left has hair light, right does not. Everything else is the same as the first set of photos. The hair light is a 200 watt light hanging from a crane pointing straight down at my head. I don’t really like the  this hair light.

50mm | 1/25 | f/1.8 | ISO 400 | 200 watt kicker light | window light fill | 200 watt hair light

50mm | 1/25 | f/1.8 | ISO 400 | 200 watt kicker light bouncing off of an umbrella | window light fill | 200 watt hair light in left image

This is where I turned the kicker into a key light and moved it in a half circle infront of me.

It starts on my left then makes it’s way directly to the side of the camera, and moves to the other side of the camera, then to my right. While pointing at me of course. The black and white version is just that, a black and white version of the color photos underneath. It helps to see the highlights and shadows.

50mm | 1/25 | f/2.5 | ISO 400 | 200 watt kicker light | window light fill

50mm | 1/25 | f/2.5 | ISO 400 | 200 watt key light bouncing off an umbrella | window light fill

Which one is your favorite? Out of the bottom set here, my favorite is 2nd from left. Looks like rembrandt lighting. Let me know in the comments below what your favorite style of lighting is. If you have a blog post with lighting examples, post the link in the comments so we can check it out. xo maria

2 thoughts on “Week 85 | Playing With Lights

    • The words perfect and portrait are equally subjective aren’t they. That’s why I love hearing what people think and how they would shoot something. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

